Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. There are 85 diplomatic, consular and other missions maintained abroad by the Department. In 39 additional countries, Canada is represented by non-resident Ambassadors or High Commissioners.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 26 divisions and three units. The divisions may be grouped into three categories—area, functional and administrative. There are six area divisions— African and Middle Eastern, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern, Latin American and United States; fourteen functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Cultural Affairs, Defence Liaison (1), Defence Liaison (2), Disarmament, Economic, Historical, Information, Legal, Passport, Press and Liaison, Protocol and United Nations; and six administrative divisions— Administrative Services, Finance, Personnel Operations, Personnel Services, Registry, and Supplies and Properties. The three units are the Inspection Service, the Organization and Methods Unit and the Administrative Improvement Unit.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States. The Secretary of State for External Affairs reports to Parliament for the External Aid Office.

**Department of Finance.**—This Department was created by Act of Parliament in 1869 and now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including the raising of money required for the various governmential activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all government disbursements. The work of the Department is organized into the following divisions: Tax Policy, Federal-Provincial-Municipal Relations, Social Security and Pensions, Economic Analysis, Government Finance and Government Guaranteed Loans, Tariffs, International Economic Relations, Resources and Development, and International Programmes. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department as is the Inspector General of Banks. The Tariff Board, the Municipal Development and Loan Board, the Bank of Canada and its subsidiary the Industrial Development Bank, and the Department of Insurance report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance who is also the spokesman in the Cabinet and the House of Commons for the Auditor General of Canada.

**Department of Fisheries.**—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulation of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: resource development and conservation protection of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on the following international commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, Great Lakes Fishery, and North Pacific Fur Seal.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board of Canada operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as the Board of Management of the Canadian Marine Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada. The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time chairman and not more than 18 other members. The majority of Board members are university scientists, and other members are representative of the fishing industry and the Department of Fisheries.

The Board, with headquarters in Ottawa, operates research establishments in St. John's, Nfid., Halifax and Dartmouth, N.S., St. Andrews, N.B., Ellerslie, P.E.I., Grande-Rivière and Ste. Anne de Bellevue, Que., Winnipeg, Man., Vancouver and Nanaimo, B.C. Board scientists carry out research on distribution of fish stocks, biology and life history of fishes, marine mammals and other aquatic creatures and plants, oceanography, fishing techniques, quality and nutritive value of fisheries products, with the principal objective of increasing the scope and value of Canadian fisheries.

Department of Forestry and Rural Development.—This Department was established in October 1960 to bring under one Ministry the conduct of programs of research relating to forest management, silviculture, protection against fire, insects and disease, and the improvement in the standards of wood utilization and development of forest products. By Order in Council of Mar. 5, 1964, the responsibilities of the Minister of Forestry were expanded to include the functions formerly exercised by the Minister of Agriculture respecting certain rural development programs under the Agricultural Rehabilitation and Development Act (ARDA), the Maritime Marshland Rehabili-